Contact: Gary Colliander
Minnesota Biathlon

December 30, 2002


U.S. Biathlon World Team Trials & NorAm Cup #2
Sprint Competition

Mt. Itasca, Coleraine, Minnesota -- Gusting winds created difficult shooting conditions at the Mt. Itasca biathlon venue. Athletes from around the U.S. and Canada gathered for this three day event beginning with today's Sprint competition.

Competing in her first U.S. Team Trials Denise Whitten-Teela of Anchorage, AK won today's Sr. Women's 7.5k Sprint competition in a time of 29:21 hitting 5 of 10 targets. Following Whitten-Teela was Sarah Riley of Proctor, MN in a time of 29:51 with 4 penalties. Erin Graham of the U.S. National Guard was 3rd.

Hitting 9 of 10 targets, Tracy Barnes of Durango, CO won the Jr. Women's race in a time of 29:25. Crossing the line 25 seconds later was Carolyn Treacy of Duluth, MN followed by Tracy's sister Lanny in a time of 31:31 with 6 penalties. Local favorite BethAnn Ellingson of Grand Rapids was 8th having 6 penalties and a time of 34:26.

Annelies Cook of Saranac Lake, NY hit 7 of 10 targets won her first race of the series in a time of 23:36. Only 24 seconds behind and with one more penalty, Sonne Nordgren of Marine, MN finished second followed by youngster Brynden Manbeck of Grand Rapids who had 3 penalties and a time of 24:29.

Ellen Anderson of Ely, MN won the Girls division in a time of 28:10 with 7 penalties, followed by Anna Roessler of Grand Rapids and Sierra Jefferson of Duluth, MN. Roessler finished in a time of 30:11 with 5 penalties and Jefferson had a time of 30:24 with 6 penalties.

In the Sr. Men's race, Hastings native and 2002 Olympian Dan Campbell competed for the first time in front of a home crowd since the Olympic Games in Salt Lake City. Campbell didn't let his fans down as he finished in second place with a time of 29:28, just 15 seconds behind fellow National Team member Jesse Downs who finished with a time of 29:13. Both athletes hit 7 of 10 targets. Rounding out the top 3 was Lowell Bailey of Lake Placid, NY.

Continuing where he left off from last year, U.S. Jr. National Team member and last years U.S. Sr. National Champion Tim Burke of Paul Smiths, NY won the Jr. Men's race in a time of 31:09 hitting 7 of his 10 targets. Finishing in second was Adam VanStraten of Duluth, MN with a time of 32:27 with 5 penalties. Walt Shepard of Yarmouth, ME finished with a time of 32:31 with 4 penalties.

Jon Arne Enevoldsen won the Master Men's race in a time of 32:47 followed by Ion Senchea of St. Cloud, MN and Phil Rogers of Esko, MN. All three athletes hit 6 of 10 targets.

In a race for the podium Kurt Farchmin of Duluth, MN won the Youth Men's race by just 1.5 seconds over Kevin Patzoldt of Grand Rapids, MN. Farchmin finished in a time of 27:26.6 with 4 penalties and Patzoldt finished had 3 penalties and a time of 27:28.1. Bjorn Bakken of Duluth, MN finished in 3rd with a time of 28:00 and 6 penalties.

Hitting 6 of 10 targets Aaron Nistler of Bemidji, MN won the Boys division with a time of 29:48. Following Nistler was Wynn Roberts of Battle Lake, MN in a time of 31:17 with 7 penalties and Mark Johnson of Grand Rapids, MN in a time of 31:29 and 8 penalties.

Tuesday will be a day off with races resuming on Wednesday with the Pursuit Format competition and the Relay Format on Thursday. All races begin at 11am. Full results will be posted on