Elm Creek Series Results

by Amy Xu
February 2, 2011

Conditions: Temperature: 6F at about 7pm and then dropping down to -1F at the end of the classic race, windchill dropping from -13F to -16F, firm base, cold grinding snow in the skating lanes, and firm and well-set classic tracks. It was a fantastic night for the classic skiers. The race course was set on the full 5K loop including Valley, Thicket and Northern Light trails.

Race distance: 5K, both classic and freestyle, mass start.


John Kallemeyn                       13:50 (F) – men’s freestyle winner  
Michael Burydorf                     16:09 (F)
Jacob Kjome                          16:37 (F) 
Andrew Gutknecht                              /17:17 (C) -- men’s classic winner
Tim Hieb                             18:47 (F)
Jim Smith                                     /19:24 (C)
Angela Eastlund                      19:25 (F) – women’s freestyle winner
Emily Bedker                                  /19:43 (C) – women’s classic winner

It was a hard effort night in the bitterly cold condition. Racers’ spirits were the highest ever. The Buffalo ski team Bison’s boys and girls joined in with their big smiles on their red cheeks -- Welcome to the Wed. night Elm Creek Time Trial! It was another lung burner for everyone. Though the average split was about 2 minutes slower for the skate race, the racers were happy that they accomplished tonight by overcoming weather adversity.

Angela Eastlund is tonight's winner for the drawing ($25 gift certificate) -- please come and claim it next week.

--Amy Xu (Timer) reporting for Race Director, Melinda Silbernick