Adam St. Pierre
US Ski and Snowboard

January 6, 2020

U.S. Teams named for the World Junior Championships and U18 Championships


Congratulations to the athletes named to the teams that will represent the U.S. at the World Junior Championships in Oberwiesenthal, Germany and the U18 Scandinavian Championships in Falun, Sweden. The teams are named based on results at the L.L. Bean U.S. Ski and Snowboard National Championships that are ongoing in Houghton, Michigan. The top 6 athletes based on World Cup scoring of the best 2 or 3 races are named to the team. Full qualification standings are here.

For more details on selection criteria go here: World Juniors Selection Criteria or U18 Selection Criteria


Your World Junior Championship Team:

Gus Schumacher- Alaska Winter Stars

Sydney Palmer-Leger- Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation

Johnny Hagenbuch- Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation

Kendall Kramer- Nordic Ski Club of Fairbanks

Luke Jager- University of Utah

Sophia Laukli- Middlebury College

JC Schoonmaker- University of Alaska Anchorage

Novie McCabe- Methow Valley Nordic

Zanden McMullen- Montana State University

Callie Young- Dartmouth College

Ben Ogden- Stratton Mountain School

Mara McCollor- Dartmouth College

1st Alternates- Will Koch (Stratton Mountain School) and Nina Seemann (Stratton Mountain School)

2nd Alternate- Wally Magill (Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club) and Waverly Gebhardt (University of Vermont)

The trip will be staffed by:

Trip Leader: Bryan Fish (US Ski and Snowboard)

Junior Coach: Bernie Nelson (US Ski and Snowboard)

U23 Coach: Greta Anderson (Crested Butte Nordic Team)

Lead Service: Justin Beckwith (NENSA)

Service Team: Jake Barton (Craftsbury GRP)

Service Team: Jon Filardo (Jackson Hole Ski Club)

Service Team: Paul Smith (Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation)

Service Team: Pat O’Brien (SMS T2)


Your U18 Championships Team:

Sydney Palmer-Leger- Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation

Will Koch- Stratton Mountain School

Kendall Kramer- Nordic Ski Club of Fairbanks

Wally Magill-Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club

Nina Seemann- Stratton Mountain School

Peter Hinds- APU Nordic Ski Center

Haley Brewster- Ski and Snowboard Club Vail

Brian Bushey- Green Mountain Valley School

Garvee Tobin- APU Nordic Ski Center

Alexander Maurer- Alaska Winter Stars

Ava Thurston- Mansfield Nordic

Michael Earnhart- Alaska Nordic Racing

1st Alternates- Maggie Druckenmiller (Nordic Ski Club of Fairbanks) and Walker Hall (Methow Valley Nordic)

2nd Alternates- Annie McColgan (Mount Bachelor Ski Education Foundation) and Finn Sweet (Craftsbury Nordic Ski Club)

The trip will be staffed by:

Trip Leader: Bernie Nelson (U.S. Ski & Snowboard) 

Coach / Service: Mary Rose (Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation)

Coach / Service: Andrew Morehouse (Bridger Ski Foundation)


L.L. Bean U.S. Ski and Snowboard National Championships conclude tomorrow on the Michigan Tech Trails with the Classic Sprint. Tune in live at XCountryLive!