Peter Westra Sprint Champions

December 13, 2013


1st – Rocci Wohlk (2012 defending champion) – Forest Lake

2nd – Allison Tiernes – WBL

3rd – Ellie Hands – MPA

4th – Laura Nicholson – MPA

5th – Katie Schaaf – FL

6th – Madi Haugen – Mahtomedi

7th – Lindsey Gast – Anoka

8th – Laura Moore – Mahtomedi


1st – Nick Gardner – MPA

2nd – Leo Happ – FL

3rd – Davis Long – FL

4th – Kethan Dahlberg – MPA

5th – Quinn Duffy – FL

6th – Tommy Babcock – FL

7th – Aidan McVey – Central

8th – Cory Mecl - Anoka

Many thanks to Peter Westra’s family for sponsoring this great event for middle and high school Nordic racers! The Westra’s encourage participation by awarding 1st and 2nd place giant cookies to the winners of 20 consolation “COOKIE” heats. Skiers who advance to the single elimination “SPRINT” heats compete for giant cookies awarded to 1st thru 8th places for both girls and boys! In addition, 14 more skiers were randomly selected to receive giant cookies during the awards ceremony! More than one-third of the 200 participants went home with Bonnie Alton’s Great Harvest Bakery cookies! And GU provided jell packs to every team! Thank you, too, to our returning starter Rachel Daw Elvester, four-time MN State High School Nordic Racing Champion! For eleven years Trollhaugen has created an exciting race course and provided everything needed to put on these sprints! Thank you Trollhaugen!