Elm Creek Series Results

by Amy Xu
January 1, 2014

Conditions: Air temp. 0F, no wind. Very nicely groomed trails with very firm track sets. Another great racing condition tonight! Happy New Year!!! Congrats to the first ski race of the new year.

Tonight's races were dominated by Eric Lindquist in both the skate race and the classic race. Christi Nowawi finished overall 2nd and took the skate race title in the women's field. Halle Weisman took the classic race title in women's field. The other New Year's jitters include leaving the ski boots at home and had to jump in the race without any warm up; or the gloves could not fit in the pole straps at the start line, etc. The most impressive thing was the mental toughness of Simone Lundquist (11), Chris Schulte (14) and Taylor Lundquist (14). No matter what, they made their mind to get to the finish line. Jim Smith pushed his own limit and posted a time faster than last week!

Race course: 1 lap of 5K lit trails (Valley Trail loop, Thicket trails, Northern Light trails). The race course was very well groomed, firm tracksets.

Race distance: 5K, both classic and freestyle, mass start.

Eric Lindquist            14:52 (F)/16:50 (C) -- male skate/classic winner
Christi Nowak             16:02 (F) --female skate winner
Chris Smith               18:09 (F)/19:58 (C)
Tim Hieb                  18:18 (F)
Halle Weisman             18:44 (F)/20:02 (C)
Jim Smith                          /19:31 (C)
Josh Nordstrom            20:01 (F)
Simone Lundquist          17:50 (F) (1/2 of the course)
Chris Schulte             34:09 (F) (1/2 of the course)
Taylor Lundquist          34:10 (F) (1/2 of the course)

-- Amy Xu (Timer and Results). Melinda Silbernick (Race Director)